Leave stitches unworked - amigurumi

Brees10

Question

I'm new to crochet and have only done very basic things so far! I've been making an amigurumi dinosaur and have got to a section that has got me so so confused!

As part of the instructions for the head it says:

Work only 35sc. Leave the last 7 stitches unworked. Move stitch marker to last stitch in this row. This will be the new beginning of each row.

Can anyone help please? 😩 

Thanks!

5 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville, and to crochet!

Don't panic.  Deep breath.  When you are making a shaped thing, like a toy dinosaur, you have to make shapes, so you aren't always going to work in plain rows or rounds, but rather add or subtract stitches somewhere, somehow.  

Leaving stitches unworked at the end of a a row is a way to shape something, example the underarm span of a sweater armhole as it transitions from the lower body section, or some piece of dinosaur anatomy apparently.  Your piece is going to become narrower at one side now, and going forward for some reason.  A lot of patterns will give you a clue of what part you are working on, like telling you you are working on the head, or body, or scales, this can help orient you so that the shaping makes sense - hopefully your pattern is telling you what part you are working on--maybe a leg hole?  (totally guessing).

Thanks for responding! 

So this part is just the head and it goes from the nose to the back of the head. I'm guessing I've just finished off the nose section as it was several rows of just single crochet but I don't understand why there would be a hole? I can't see that there is one from the photo? Originally I thought I would be crocheting into the unworked stitches on the next row but then I just can't work out how to skip over those stitches now. 

I also don't know if anything I'm saying makes any sense!! 😆