Eileen

eileen103444

Question

Hi,

I am fairly new to crochet and have recently learnt how to do bobble stitch . The pattern i am working on is a sheep and thought i was doing ok ,until the 16th rnd . I had 54 stitches at the end of rnd 15 , which was as should be . But on completing the 16th rnd found i was half way through the sequence, which is - * 1sc into next st , 1 bobble st into next st, 1 sc into next 2 sts , 1 bobble st into next st , 1 sc into next 2 sts , 1 bobble st into next st ,repeat from * ending round with 1 sc into last stitch . 54 sts .                                                                        But i end up in the middle of the sequence , how can this be correct .  I make that an  8 st  sequence and 8's do not go into 54 , am i working this out wrong or is the pattern wrong ? 

Help !   

6 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!  That's a good question, did the last row end with a 54 stitch count as well?

The pattern is symmetrical (bobbles with 2 sc between all around), so if there is an error it's not obvious to me. 

If I were doing this, I'd want to keep it looking symmetrical more than sticking to the 54 stitches that don't work.  8 times 7 happens to be 56, only 2 stitches more than the 54 that you have, and the worst thing that can happen by adding 2 stitches is making a slightly fluffier sheep.  What does the prior round consist of?  If it is plain SC, I'd consider ripping the last stitch of the last round out, put a stitch marker in that newly bare stitch so you don't lose your place, and rip until you are half way back across that row; put 2 sc into 1 in that spot, then work back to the end and put 2 sc into 1 in the marked stitch (and mark the new last stitch again to keep your place in the round)- this will increase your stitch count to 56 fairly subtly so the bobble round will work out.