Evergreen Forest Afgan

melwaw

Question

Hello! My name is melissa and I'm new to crocheting. I purchased a pattern book but am having trouble understand the instructions. I was wondering if someone would be able to explain to me what this first paragraph for row one means?

"Working in back ridges of beginning chain, double crochet in fourth chain from hook and in next 13 chains, 3 double crochet in next chain, double crochet in next 15 chains ☆skip next 3 chains, double crochet in next 15 chains, 3 double crochet in next chain, double chain in next 15 chains, repeat☆

do I double crochet the whole way through?? I'm very confused 

1 answer to this question

Hi Melissa, welcome to the 'ville!

"Working in back ridges of beginning chain, double crochet in fourth chain from hook and in next 13 chains, 3 double crochet in next chain, double crochet in next 15 chains ☆skip next 3 chains, double crochet in next 15 chains, 3 double crochet in next chain, double chain in next 15 chains, repeat☆

First of all, you said you are new so if this isn't new to you forgive me, but I'm just making sure I'm covering everything--skipping the first 3 chains, and DC into the 4th, creates a turning chain, which normally counts as a stitch, in addition to the first real stitch.

I underlined and highlighted the parts where you don't just DC 'the whole way through'.  Notice there are 2 spots where you put 3 stitches into one chain, and 1 spot where you skip 3 chains.  (Some new crocheters balk at putting more that 1 stitch into 1 stitch, trust me you can put a LOT of stitches into one stitch or chain)

The word chain that I highlighted in red probably a typo and should be crochet (double crochet, not double chain).  You can't put a chain into a stitch, however you can chain "into the air" above a stitch, and then (usually) skip some stitches to make a hole on purpose (like lace, or a buttonhole).