Help Reading Pattern

akimaki

Question

hello! i am quite new to crochet and i find it a bit difficult to read patterns because I dont know all of the abbreviations. 

I'm trying to make a market bag right now, but I can't figure out the pattern directions very well. If anyone could translate them into a bit more beginner language then I'd be extremely happy! Thanks :)

Was also wondeirng if I should use 100% cotton or more of a cotton blend. I'm leaning more towards 100% but its not very stretchy.

1892740967_ScreenShot2020-06-01at4_24_11PM.thumb.png.32eab8e712c85e39ceee87a8db2a98e5.png

ShoppingBags.pdf

Edited by akimaki

3 answers to this question

Round 1
Once you have the ring, Chain 5 (=the chain 5 is equivalent to 1 treble crochet and 2 chains -- this is informational, not a stitch)
The * starts a repeat instruction that you will do 9 more times after the first time you do it, so you will repeat the instruction 10 times in total.
Make 1 treble, then 2 chains

You will then close this wagon wheel looking thing into a circle by slip stitching into the third chain chain of the chain 6 you did at the beginning of the round.  

• Like 1

Welcome to the 'ville, and to crochet!

First, your pattern is in UK terms -  I'm assuming you are in the UK, if not let me know and I'll go down a different path (it's OK, I speak UK :lol )

I may be wrong, but I think the crochet or knit stitch structure gives the fabric most of it's stretch, I wouldn't want the yarn itself to stretch.  Cotton is a common and sturdy material to use for market bags, but a blend would be OK too.

I'm going to pick out bits that I'm noticing that I think might be confusing to a very beginner - if I miss something, let me know.