How do I go about choosing an appropriate alternative yarn?

LilCurlyBear

Question

Currently, I am working on a doll using the book 'My Crochet Doll' by Isabelle Kessedjian. I am fairly new to branching out with my crochet skills (I've generally worked on basic granny square blankets or CALs with purchased yarn packs), so not paying particular attention (newb mistake!) I just grabbed some cotton yarns that looked about right from my yarn stash.... worked really hard on making a lovely little doll.... and low and behold the clothes I've made don't fit the doll well at all... cue lots of swearing and frustration, and disappointment and self loathing.

Having now looked properly at the yarns actually used to create the dolls in the book, I've noticed that she uses the same brand of yarn (Bergere de France), but several different weights for the different items of clothing. For the actual doll (and some of the clothes) she uses 'Ideal' yarn (lightweight DK), for the majority of the clothes she uses 'Coton Fifty' (4 ply sport), then there are a few other yarn types thrown in for good measure for things like a fluffy snow coat and teddy bear onsie. The doll and all her clothes are crocheted with a 3mm hook.

Now, not only is the yarn £3-4 for 50g (call me a cheapskate, but I just don't want to pay that much when I need so many different colours & types of yarns), but I'm also having trouble finding the Coton Fifty in the colours I need. So, I would prefer to find a cheaper alternative where I can get the colours I want.

The trouble is: I've tried in the past to purchase yarn based on it being Aran yarn, and same size hook recommended as my pattern... but it just wasn't the same thickness at all. So I'm really unsure as to how I go about finding a lightweight DK yarn that will actually be a good match for the Bergere de France Ideal yarn without having both yarns in hand - which is not possible during lockdown....