Hello :)

LilCurlyBear

Hi all, my name is Gemma, and I've been crocheting for around 10+ years. I used to just make very basic granny square blankets, but decided to branch out and try more complex designs around 3 years ago. Since the start of lockdown in the UK I've been trying to expand my skills again, and have been making various items, such as scarves, stuffies and (surprise surprise) more blankets! I do love the satisfaction of having made a beautful blanket <3

Until now, and the main reason I thought it would be useful to join a forum, I've always either used a basic acrylic DK yarn for my blankets, or I've joined CALs or subscriptions & been provided with/purchased the yarn packs... but recently I have been trying different patterns and just using yarns I already have... and it really doesn't work sometimes! I recently decided to make a scarf, the pattern called for an Aran yarn that was quite expensive, and would have cost around £30 for a very basic scarf pattern.. I didn't want to spend that much on this particular project, so found another yarn online that was Aran, and called for the same size crochet hook as the pattern did... but when it arrived I found that it was very fine, clearly much finer than the yarn used in the pattern. I persevered and doubled the yarn where needed, and was fairly happy with the end result. But I was stumped to find that 2 yarns that were Aran, and called for the same size hook, were totally different - I honestly thought that Aran yarns were always chunky yarns.