Help Finding Specific Virus Blanket Pattern

MoonPhoenix

Question

Don't be fooled by the title--the pattern is actually called a "virus blanket." When I first found the design, I thought it meant that the person made it during the shelter-in-place order as a result of the current Coronavirus pandemic, but upon more research, I discovered that's what this pattern is really named. I'm a crochet newbie so maybe most of you already knew this, but I'm also an over-thinker so just wanted to be mindful about wording =)

Anyway! I'm looking for a new crochet project and fell in love with the colors used in Red Heart's Super Saver Latte Stripe yarn, which is what led me to the following blanket that I want to recreate (using the same pattern and yarn, if possible): https://www.reddit.com/r/crochet/comments/9134d9/another_redditor_inspired_me_to_do_a_virus_shawl/

I've looked into virus pattern but haven't found one that looks quite the same. I've also never used a multicolored yarn (usually work with one color at a time) and am not sure if there is a specific way to work the Latte Stripe yarn so that it looks like the photo in the link above. Any advice? Thank you!

3 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!  And yes, the virus shawl pattern is well known and has been around for a while before the current mess, not sure the origins of it's name except that the curves and filet lace kinda sorta vaguely resemble a virus (an orb with things sticking out), I guess.