hello from an English bloke.

Jonzjob

Hi folks, my name is John and  I am joining you because I am looking out for some information on the tools that you all use. I am retired and my hobby/passion is wood turning. I took early retirement after hurting me back and decided to make wooden toys, that was 25 years ago! I more or less fell into turning and got totally hooked (oh, not really meant to be a pun) and now I spend as much time in my workshop as I can. I am still as much surprised when I stop my lathe as I was when I started as every piece of wood is different.

I have recently dropped into the crochet world by a lady at a craft fair we were participating in asking me if I could make some hooks for her after she saw an example I had done. She was running the next stall to me and was doing spinning and crochet using her own thread. 

Firstly, I am not trying to sell on here, but as I am totally new to crochet, apart from knowing that unlike knitting you only use one hook and not two. I am trying to find out what the most popular shapes and sizes are and just how the hook end is formed so that I can get it right. I hope that you can help me please ? The hooks are really pleasing things to turn and I love working with wood. I have a hobby web site that explains much more of what I do and if I am allowed to show it on here then please just let me know?

I don't know if I can post a photo yet, but I will try? If it works then these are the hooks I made for the lady at the craft fair and the stand is one that I have done to see what it was like. Would this be the correct type of thing?

Please be kind as I am delicate :-0

IMG_3699.JPG

IMG_3752.JPG

• Like 1

Hi Welcome  to Crochetville from the Gulf Coast of Florida.

Grab your yarn and hooks, put your feet up and sit a spell.

We are always so glad to meet new friends.😁

Love your hooks.  I especially love the pipe holder you used to show them off.  I have seen a couple of them on the net for sale.