round and round we go [a question about in the round!]

luckygrrl

Question

Hi everyone!

I am new to crocheting in the round, and have been doing not too bad at it so far. However, I haven't done enough of the different types to exactly get some things. I was hoping someone could help me with sort of a fundamental question I have. Hope I can explain this okay...

What would be the reason a pattern would call for A vs. B? I'm writing this out myself, not exactly from a pattern, so forgive me if I get something a little wrong...

A) At the end of the RND, join with SS to first stitch of last RND, ch 1. Do NOT turn.

B) At the end of the RND, join with SS to first stitch of last RND, ch 1, turn.

I've found that trying A means that I absolutely can never figure out where the start of my row was, so I'm assuming I should be using a stitch marker...but where, exactly? I've never used them-- would I put it in the first stitch of the row after I've done the stitch, and then it would indicate to me at the end of my row that it's the stitch I ss into to join? Using stitch markers scares me for some reason. lol

Anyway, what's the difference in why you'd use A or B? I'm not experienced enough to have any idea, and patterns will just say one or the other and not explain why. Is A the type that is considered working it in a spiral (where you end up with a little bump at the end instead of a smooth row)? Or would that be if you didn't ss to join and just kept on working your stitch around and around?

Part of the reason I'm asking is because I want to understand the concepts I'm working with (and haven't ever figured out how to successfully do A!), but also because I want to make striped arm warmers in the round and am not sure if I can only do B with changing colors in rows. Can you change row colors in either method?