Why is my project turning out hard with soft yarn?

Tevia5

Question

23 answers to this question

That was my thought as well.  Are you new to crochet?  When I was a newbie I crocheted quite tightly and had to teach myself to loosen up, and for as long as I've been reading posts here I'm not the only one this has happened to.  In my case, I was using a tapered hook and was making stitches in the narrower 'throat' area not over the shaft, which is the part that 'sizes' the stitches.  When I learned to shove the stitches a little farther back, it made a big difference.

Does your pattern give a gauge (for example, 20 stitches over 4")?  Are you hitting that gauge, and if not, which way 'off' are you?  Sometimes gauge can be confusing, the numbers seem backwards - the bigger the number of stitches you have per 4", the smaller your stitches are, so if you are getting (example) 25 stitches per 4" and you are supposed to get 20), you'll need to try a bigger hook.  

Edited by Granny Square
  • Thanks 1

They are not what I would consider very tight, but then I also don’t want to make them much looser as I am sure this would not be good either.    I have used Lions Brand Hometown and Red Heart hygge.   
i

have just picked up crocheting for the first time in 24 years!

Thanks

Hygge is a bulky yarn, and the ball band calls out a K hook, gauge 4” x 4” (10 cm x 10 cm) =11 sc and 13 rows with a 6.5 mm (U.S. K-10 1/2) crochet hook. 

Hometown is super bulky and calls out a N hook (Crochet Gauge (4" x 4")=6.6 sc x 8 r ).  Really, I don't think this is appropriate for baby things, this gauge = each stitch is over half an inch wide.

I wouldn't go smaller than those hook recommendations for either of these yarns.  I've found that using finer yarn, in addition to being more traditional for baby items, is plenty soft and delicate if done at the right gauge.  The last baby set (outfit and blanket) I made was with Bernat Baby Sport weight yarn, an was plenty soft and snuggly.