Agnetha Faltskog (ABBA) Beanie Pattern Help

ABBAFan456

Question

Hello, I just started learning to crochet, and I wanted to make myself this Beanie from the ABBA Museum store.   I literally only learned how to crochet so I could make this beanie, and I've attempted to make it a couple of times now, and each time something seems to be going wrong.  For example, I've started crocheting in a spiral after increasing the stitches for the first four rows to make the hat wide enough, and the beanie is stuck looking like a pancake and not curling in to make more of a dome shape even though I don't think I'm increasing it anymore.

Can anyone figure out what I'm doing wrong, and what I can do to fix it?  I'm having trouble understanding the pattern as well, and if anyone could explain it to me, I'd really appreciate it. :)

Agentha Beanie Instructions.png

1 answer to this question

Hi and welcome!  

First:  Since you are a beginner, I really strongly recommend that you follow the pattern which is NOT worked in a spiral.  It is not written that way, it makes a big difference and it will not look the same if you don't follow the pattern exactly word for word, and is certainly why you are 'going wrong'.

Sorry to waggle my finger at you, but I want to help you to get your hat going right so you are happy with the result.

Working a hat in a spiral really only works when you are working 100% in UK DC stitches, or maybe HTR, (100% of the hat in identical short, plain stitches in other words).  When you work in a spiral, and stop, your work will look like this:  ____── sort of, best I can do on a keyboard.  With a spiral you are always working uphill, you need to work straight (not uphill) in rounds because with your stitch pattern, with varied stitches, the rows need to meet up evenly and not ajog.  As in make a flat ring, 'chain up' to bring the yarn to the next round's level, make another flat ring, chain up...which is what your pattern is telling you to do.