Circle is janky

WendyK

Question

I'm a beginner, and I am making a circle. I am alternating two, then one (as the pattern told), but my circle is still flappy as if it's expanding too fast. Is there a better way? I need it to lay flat.

20191130_111903.jpg

Edited by WendyK
Added photo

4 answers to this question

It IS expanding too fast.  You need to start with 6 dc.  Then make 2dc in each of the 6 dc.  In the next row, increase by making 1 dc in each of the next 2 dc, then 2 dc in the third st.  Continue to increase each round by 6 evenly spaced dcs in each row.

Agree with what AvonLady said.  

You do need to make sure you don't "stack" the increases on top of each other from row to row.  that causes corners to form and your circle will look more like a hexagon.

Wendy, if you tell us what specific pattern you're using and where it is located, we may be able to offer you some further advice.  

here's a tutorial about circles in sc and other height stitches https://www.thesprucecrafts.com/how-to-crochet-a-circle-4051535

As a doily-head I'm often tweaking circles.  Everybody has their own stitch-height gauge, and mine is on the short side compared to the average designer; when you make short stitches, you end up with too much circumference with too little diameter and get ruffling, so your piece looks familiar.

The recipe of stitches per round for a flat circle is:  SC=6, DC=12.  These are the numbers that you start with in the first round, and increase by in each subsequent round.  HDC is 8 or 9.

The cure for too-great circumference for the diameter (ruffling) is to either increase the diameter (make taller stitches) or decrease circumference by taking some of the stitches out.