Help With Row 3

Penny1029

Question

Hello! I'm trying to make a blanket for my sister's baby, and fell in love with this Victorian-inspired, out of print pattern. I'm self taught, but I'm not exactly a novice at crochet and know how to read a pattern - I'm just not sure what to do about row 3, though. I feel like I'm not doing it quite right, because they're asking me to jump quite a lot of chains.

Ch 157

Row 1: Work Crown St (ch7, sc) 3 times in the same st in twelfth ch from the hook, ch 4, skip next 4 cos, dc in next ch, *ch 4, skip next 4 cos, work Crown st in next ch, ch 4, skip next 4 cos, dc in next ch; repeat from * across: 15 Crown sts.

Row 2 (right side): Ch 1, turn; sc in first dc, ch 1, skip next ch-4 sp, sc in next loop, (ch 3, sc in next loop) twice, ch 1, * skip next ch-4 sp, sc in next dc, ch 1 skip next ch-4 sp, sc in next loop, (ch 3, sc in next loop) twice, ch: repeat from * across to last loop, skip next 4 ch s, sc in next ch: 61 sc

Row 3: Ch 8, turn; (sc, ch 7, sc) in first sc, ch 4, skip next ch-3 sp, dc in next sc, ch 4, * skip next sc, work Crown St in next sc, ch 4, skip next ch-3 sp, dc in next sc, ch 4; repeat from * across to last 2 sc, skip next sc, (sc, ch 7, sc, ch 3, tr) in last sc: 14 Crown Sts.

Edited by Penny1029

4 answers to this question

Hi Penny1029, and welcome to the 'ville!

I saw your post earlier today but was running off and couldn't comment at that time; there was a photo attached, which you've removed so I can't study it closer now.  The photo looked perfectly fine to me, and yes there were a lot of chain loops and skipped initial chains but that's not uncommon on lacy patterns.  If this is a blanket, did it have an edging? That could mitigate the gaps a bit.

In row 1, is cos supposed to be chains, or something else?  I will see what I get swatching this, I'll be back...