Hello all 🙂 Advice needed!

CrochetClaire

Hi everyone,

I wanted to ask for some advice as I’m wanting to do some craft stalls this winter season and wondered if anyone could offer guidance on popular items you have sold and how to appropriately price things. I’m a complete amateur but really want to give it a go!! All and any help much appreciated xxx

Edited by CrochetClaire

Hi  Welcome  to Crochetville from the Gulf Coast of Florida.

Grab your yarn and hooks, put your feet up and sit a spell.

We are always so glad to meet new friends.

I know nothing about selling stuff.  I am sure you will get some help in that direction.  You could try some of the CAL's  like Encouragement and Granny square to name a couple.

Edited by Tampa Doll

:welcome to the 'ville.  I am so glad you decided to join us.  We love seeing photos and hearing about everyone's projects (even non crochet projects)!  I love the inspiration, encouragement and motivation that I have received from fellow members here.  I hope you will join in on the chatter in the CAL's so we get to know you better. 

I have no experience in selling crafts either.  

Welcome to the 'ville!  And the only advice I can think of is hold off making anything (except something you might want for yourself) and first going to some craft fairs in your to check out your "market".  I've never sold anything, but from reading many posts here over the years, most customers expect to pay less for a "home made" item than the cost of a similar machine-made thing at Walmart; they don't understand that 1 skein of yarn isn't enough for a king sized blanket, and that it takes dozens of hours to make one stitch by stitch.

Sorry to be so negative...in my area, crochet items at fairs are priced so low I can't imagine them recouping much more than the cost of the yarn, and the $$ they have to pay for a table to set up at the venue.