Enumus

Stuck with directions

Question

Hi all,

I'm very new in crochet. My works are a winter hat I done following some YouTube video and now I'm trying to make a stuffed toy for my still unborn child.

I bought a beginner's kit because I liked the design of the result. The toy is a giraffe from hooked. It comes with the yarn, a wooden hook and the instructions. I managed to make the body and the ears, but I'm stuck with the nose please find attached the bit to make the nose.

My trouble is when it asks to turn the nose. If someone would be able to explain me, or show me somehow would be very much appreciated.

Thanks.

15639070799124285599755538048706.jpg

2 answers to this question

Posted (edited)

Welcome to the 'ville, and to crochet!

Working in an oval is a bit mind-bending the first time you encounter it.  I'm guessing this pattern is in UK terms since toys are usually done in US SC=UK DC.

In general:  when you work into a chain, there are 3 practical ways to do it.

First method, the method I was taught and still use decades later: with the chain facing you, is to make stitches into the top loop.  This leaves 2 free/unused loop.

Second method: like above, except make stitches into/around the top loop and the back 'bump'.  This leaves 1 unused loop.

Third method: flipping the chain over, using the 'back bump'.  A lot of people like this because it leaves the part that looks like a chain unused, and shows as the bottom edge.  A lot of people will disagree, but I personally would not recommend this method to a beginner for 2 reasons: it pulls the chain tight and it is quite a bit 'fiddlier' to work.  One usually has to use a bigger hook for the chain, then switch to the right hook for the project.