Pinwheel doily question

Jackmeister

Question

I’m still new at crocheting doilies... Typically they ruffle like they’re too big, not cupping like they’re too small. Is this normal for a pinwheel pattern? 

1C58F077-8409-4533-BDCD-BF15ECE34BE3.jpeg

3CE2E0D6-7927-4594-A9CC-DCD2B6AD22D8.jpeg

I much prefer ruffling.  Cupping stinks, because you can't block it out unless it's really mild, which this isn't.  You can yank ruffling to flatten it, but the fix for cupping is the opposite, and I haven't found a way to shove the excess fabric to the center.

This looks very much like the start of a doily I did last year that I had cupping problems with, and had to add a boatload of stitches to to get it to work.  I don't think it's the nature of spiral doilies in general tho, as I've done others that came out fine.  How I solved my problem was to add chains between, I added them to the chains between the solid parts -- ended up adding 3 chains per section, which changed the look; if I made it again, I'd have added 1 chain, and 1 DC on each side of the spiral to blend the look of the added stitches if that makes sense. 

Adding 3 on my pattern worked for my tension and that pattern (and I had to rip and re-do the starting couple of inches a few times to get it looking right) BUT the solution to getting it flat for your tension is to either work this in shorter stitches (extended SC or HDC) or add stitches, or a combination.

What pattern are you using?  Adding stitches might get complicated once you get past the spiral part, if something different comes later, so shorter stitches might be the ticket.

I’ve already ripped this one apart 3 times for one reason or another. I was hoping the cupping would level out, instead it just got worse. I’ll try adjusting the stitches like you suggested and see if it flattens out without messing with the design. Thank you :) 

D27C1B7C-B9BB-48F8-8BE6-ACE53DB45B20.jpeg