Help reading a pattern

amythor95

Question

I am a novice at crochet however I bought a project from a crafts shop and I have attached the instructions. I cannot make sense of them at all and Google isn't helping me. I was wondering whether someone would be able to give me an advice on how to read this pattern. Thank you in advance.

20190428_155841.jpg

5 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!

There is another thread somewhere with another toy that was written this way. 

I have a few adjectives I'd like to hurl at this designer but I will behave myself.  She has essentially invented her own personal crochet terms and is charging money for her illegible patterns.  In the US, there are standard abbreviations, symbols, and 'grammar' that all publications, yarn company patterns, and legitimate self published pattern designers adhere to.  This is like an aircraft engineer making up their own words for measurements and materials to give to their suppliers to make components, and expect the components to work right.  (edited to add, here are the Craft Guild of America standard terms--see the menu at the right, 'how to read a crochet pattern'.  All sorts of other good stuff in that menu, as well.

Sorry to sound stern and grumpy, but IMO you have 'bought a pig in a poke' and I'm irritated on your behalf and of all the other people that have paid for this person's patterns.  The sad (and stupid) thing is, she undoubtedly put in a lot of work crochet-wise to design the thing and then turned it to garbage by not writing it out in an intelligible way.  What a waste!  It would not have taken a whole lot more effort to have written it in the correct terms.