Crochet Sloth Pattern Help

CrochetItAintSo

Question

Hi, I was hoping I could get some help understanding what this pattern wants me to do.

I am relatively new to crochet but have picked up how to read the patterns from a few quick google searches and successfully completed some other projects but this one has really stumped me. It's for the sloth's face that I'll stitch to his head and then add the eyes to and is meant to look like rounded with a dip at the top like you'd get if you googled a picture of a cartoon sloth.

It says:

R1: with 8 times chain, then begin crochet from last but one increase, 5sc, 1 time back crochet 4sc, anotherside 5sc, increase, total 18 times

I'm assuming it wants me to work in rounds because the rest of the patterns have been worked in rounds but I just cannot understand that first round at all, any help at all would be much appreciated!

3 answers to this question

Welcome!  I love your user name.

I'm going to assume English is not the designer's first language, it's a.

I'm also going to guess that it's telling you to work in an oval, which is in rounds, but made around a long chain instead of a pinpoint center.

First - there's 3 ways to work into chains.  You can either work into the back bump, which I don't recommend in this case it will be MUCH fiddlier.  Or, with chain facing you, you can work into the top loop only, leaving 2 loops free.  Or, chain facing you, work into the top loop and the back loop, leaving the bottom loop free.