help to figure how much more yarn

loriko

Question

Hi everyone!  I so appreciate this site and the help that returns with it.  If I haven't told those of you thank you in the past for your help, I hope you are reading this and know that I appreciate it.  So, I am still learning and need help on figuring how much more yarn I need to buy.  I am doing a c2c, 2 ch and 3 dc pattern.  I am using a skein of yarn that starts at 7 oz.  I have weighed the remainder of the yarn left and I have 1.06 oz.  I have done 32 of 75 days worth, (there are 25 blocks that make up a day).  Could you give me a math equation to help figure out how many skeins of yarn i will need to do the 75 days.  I hope this is making sense.  I have only one skein for that day and I know that I will at least need 2 if not 3, but I am hoping to find an equation so I can figure it out on my own for the future.  Thank you everyone, got to run!  Bye!

3 answers to this question

This would be calculable on a non-temperature blanket with a planned color scheme worked any other way but on the bias.  You could work a couple of rows, rip it out, and measure the yardage for that number of rows, and extrapolate the yardage needed for however many rows you have left.  

But, you don't know the color distribution you need, and each row C2Cis a different length.  

Measuring yards, not weight, is the most accurate way to do this.  Different colors, even of a same brand and dye lot, may vary a bit in yards per ounce, and if you are mixing brands there's even more variation -- each yarn class ('weight', like worsted, sport, sock, etc.) is a range of actual weights and thicknesses, not an absolute.  And if you did go by ounce, you'd still have to swatch, rip, measure length or cut and weigh.  There's no absolute of 'x ounces covers y square inches for z stitch' - too many variables in yarn and individual stitch tension..