Twisting project

raean127

Question

I am pretty new to crotchet and have made only a handful of items. I am working on a baby blanket. The number of stitches seemed correct in the foundation chain, except I think I crocheted way too tightly at the beginning. I have loosened my stitches on the last several rows, but I am not sure if this can be corrected. Do I need to start over or will this correct itself as I add looser rows? Just to confirm, does this seem to be due to having a few tight rows at the beginning? Thank you!

15509726525244585771929046959596.jpg

1 answer to this question

Whoa.  I think it's more than a tight chain, that is one heck of a ruffle, and actually you went the wrong way with your fix.  If it was just a too-tight chain, to keep the tension consistent you should have gone with tighter stitches /smaller hook--not that all-too-tight is a good thing, notice I said consistent.  By making the stitches exaggeratedly looser than the chain, you made the disparity worse.

When I was a new crocheter, waaaay before the internet, I crocheted super tight and realized I was forming stitches right at the tip of my hook, at the narrowest spot.  The right way is to use the shaft of the hook, which is the 'stitch sizing' part, to form the stitches consistently and to the right size, so I had to retrain myself to scoot the yarn up the hook a bit with each stitch.

How are you working into your chain?  There are 3 ways.  Look at a chain.  One way facing, it looks like a chain, or braid.  Flip it over, and there are a line of bumps facing you.

1) The way I learned (so I'm biased), but it works in every situation.  With the chain-looking side facing you, make your stitches into the top loop.  This leaves 2 unused loops underneath, which look like a 'legs crossed' chain, is not bulky, and does not pull the fabric tight.