Comparable yarn

loriko

Question

Hello...With being very new to the crochet world, I did not buy enough yarn to do a temperature blanket.  Little did I know that that particular color would be the one I needed the most.  So with all of that said, could I please get some help in finding some comparable yarn brands to Hobby Lobby I Love This Yarn!.  I have no idea how many more skeins I will need, but I do know that I will need more than 1.  I am doing a c2c and am still learning how to figure things out in the crochet world.  I have been quilting for the last 17 years, working in a quilt store for 10 1/2 of those years and crocheting maybe a couple times during the last 4 years.  Making 5 baby blankets using the hdc.  So again, I know that I do not have enough yarn of the HL I Love This Yarn! and will need to substitute with another brand as the company has discounted I believe the color that I need.   Thank you all for your time.

6 answers to this question

If you have another yarn store near you, take a sample of the yarn you need with you, and just compare it to the yarn they sell.  That way, you can feel the texture and weight of the yarn, along with the closest color.

Agree with Avon Lady.  Since this is going to be a crazy cacophony of colors, you should be able to get a way with 'not quite matching' shades a lot better than most other projects.  It's harder to see a mismatch if there are other colors between the old and new skeins.

Consider switching between old and new skeins a few times until the old was used up, as well.  This is a technique I've seen suggested for transitioning dye lots in knitting when you are knitting with all the same color (I knit too, but I've never tried it).