How to get the correct number of stitches

Mel30

Question

Hi, I’m new to crochet and am trying the attached pattern. No matter what I do I can’t seem to come up at 115 stitches in round 21. There are no stitch counts given for the previous rows! Maybe if someone could fill in some of the intermediate rows it would help. How many stitches should there be after rounds 3, 4, 5?  Does the slip stitch count as a stitch. I think not (based on rounds 22 and 23 that aren’t shown here). 

31BC91F5-BAEA-48BA-8561-028BE943967B.jpeg

6 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!

When working in the round like this, 'slst to join' doesn't count as a stitch, because what follows is a stitch that 'sprouts out' of the slip stitch--in your case, a chain 1+ SC.  For SC, the chain 1 is to raise the yarn up to the level of the next round & doesn't count as a stitch.  For taller stitches, the turning/level raising chains typically count as a stitch.

The bad news is there is a lot of math required in crochet.  The good news is that it's elementary school level stuff for the most part, including this pattern.

Rnd 1 ends with 5 sts.

Rnd 2=10 sts total (2 sts into each of the prior rnd's sts)

Rnd 3=20 sts total (ditto)

Rnd 4=you are starting with 20 from the prior row, and the pattern now says to add 1 stitch for every 4 stitches (3 plain, 1 increase, repeat).  20 is 5 sets of 4, so you are increasing by 5, to 25 sts.

Rnd 5=you are starting with 5 sets of 5 and adding 1 for each set of 5, so now have 30 sts (which happens to be 6x5)

Rnd 6= groups of 6, same math,, total 35 (which happens to be 7x5)

Rnd 7= groups of 7, same math, total now 40  (which happens to be 8x5)

Rnd 8= groups of 8, ditto, 45 total (which happens to be 9x5)