Help with beret pattern

undinen

Question

Hi all!

I have been crocheting for ~8 years but only amigurumis with single crochet, and after Swedish patterns (I am Swede). I decided that now I will try some slight more advanced patterns, even in English, with double crochets. I found this beginner's pattern but I have started over about 4 times already. I don't get it. The pattern can be found here: https://hannicraft.blogspot.com/2013/03/simple-beret-crochet-pattern.html

I have attached how my work looks like.

I am now working on round 3 and it really does not look like the beret on the photo in the pattern. What I do not get is:

1. The beret on the pattern has 12 sections, they are very clear.  They are not seen on my beret.. I simply don't understand why. I have crocheted according to what it says: R3: 3 chain stiches and then make 1 double crochet in the same stich. Then continuing with 1 double crochet in next stich. Then 1 chain.  Then 2 double crochets in next stich, then one double crochet in next stich + 1 chain. Repeating that that 11 times starting with the 2 double crochets. 
  2. My work is all bubbly at the edges. I suppose it's since I am increasing the work, making two double crochets (dc's) in one stich here and there according to the pattern. But when I see the finished beret on the photos, it does not look bubbly at all; it's flat. I have never crocheted like this before, so I do not know if it's normal and will even out when it's finished..?

I am using hook 3.5. Also tested with hook 4, no difference. I do not know yarn size, I just found a ball of this yarn at home. 

Anyone know what's wrong..?

Thank you ❤️ 

- Emelie

IMG_9383.JPG

1 answer to this question

Hi, welcome to the 'ville!

I'm sure you know everybody had different stitch tensions, including designers, and sometimes you have to use a bigger or smaller hook to get something the right distance across if you're working back and forth.