3rd time ripping this apart, PLEASE HELP!

Torylynn

Question

PLEASE HELP ME!!

I'm fairly new to crocheting, I've completed little SC granny squares and they've all turned out fine. I'm trying to complete my first fully finished project, and it doesn't seem complicated at all... except it has been! This has been the third time I've ripped it apart and tried again all over. Each time I'm losing stiches! This last time I caught it early on, I started out with 108 chain stitches, second row ended up being 85 and the third was 83.. this past time I even tried using place markers at the ends of my stitches but still to no avail.. slanted edges. I'll leave the link to the pattern, I'm hoping someone can figure out what I'm doing wrong. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Thank you! 

https://dabblesandbabbles.com/easy-cozy-crochet-blanket-2/

20181206_090639.jpg

20181206_090541.jpg

6 answers to this question

Well, you've already tried stitch markers, which would have been my first thought.

My second thought, since you lost more than 20 stitches in 1 row (!!), is that this yarn is SO thick and fuzzy you can't see what you are doing (not your fault, I wouldn't be able to see either; but I'm not a super bulky yarn fan).  It's pretty, though, like Neapolitan ice cream with berries. (can't tell if that's grey or brown on my monitor)

My third thought - an even bigger hook?  Stretching the stitches a bit with your fingers, hold it up to the light as you go so you can see better?

Your yarn looks a lot thicker to me than the one in the pattern photo.  The pattern calls for bulky US#5 yarn and P hook.  US Yarn weights and recommended hook - you might have to scroll down to see the hook "letter": 

Bulky #5 yarn recommends K to M hook,

Super Bulky #6 yarn calls for M to Q (so notice the pattern writer is recommending bulky yarn but a hook in the super-bulky suggested range),

Jumbo#7 calls for Q or bigger.