nycsofia

Question

Hello!

I am very new to crocheting. I have been a knitter for the last 30 years. My mom has always preferred to crochet. She is going to be 80 soon. After a recent hospitalization, we decided to make a quilt together with my 14yo daughter. After looking for a while, we came upon Ellen Gormley's triangle pattern found here: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/triangles-afghan

The pattern calls for 3 colors. However, I found a picture (attached) that shows the same pattern but using 6 colors. The pattern also specifies worsted weight, 5.0mm needle. Both my mom and I have tried to do practice triangles. And they are not coming out like the pictures. 

1. The holes in ours are way larger than the holes in these pics. The hole comes from creating a ch3 followed by a 2dc. I tried decreasing it to ch2 instead but the holes are still too big. 

2. I'm thinking tha worsted weight yarn may be too heavy for what was used to create the red and blue blankets. 

I would LOVE to get your help for:

1. How to make the holes smaller. 

2. What kind of weight yarn may have been used in the 2 pics.

This blanket is special for us. I would love us 3 to create something beautiful as well as the memories to go with it. Thank you for your help!

Sofia

d4b52fc30ea65c410c3eabfcbd4f9d1e.jpg

Screenshot 2018-11-27 00.27.36.png

b6074f3cd8611a3ac32f41077836c43f.jpg

4 answers to this question

To be honest your triangle looks nice and pretty comparable to those in the afghans shown on Ravelry.  

I dont like large holes either so I often do what you did and decrease chains by as many as I can and still retain the shape.  You might be able to eliminate the chains and work more dc's to get around the corner.  Along with that I will also use a smaller hook and work my stitches tighter.  To eliminate the center hole I would use a magic ring to start. 

https://www.planetjune.com/blog/tutorials/magic-ring-right-handed/