Curved sampler runner should be straight

Kayla Jackson

Question

I’m making my mom a table runner for Mother’s Day, and it’s in a stitch sampler style, using granny rows, the v stitch, herringbone double crochet, and odd forked cluster stitches. However, it’s curving dramatically, and I’m not sure if it’s because I have so many different stitches, if I am adding stitches, starting with the wrong number of stitches, or if my starting chain was too tight. Or maybe something else entirely. I’m not a beginner, and usually my work doesn’t go all rainbow on me... but I’m not sure what I should do. Did I maybe do the math wrong at the beginning?

If I am not using compatible stitches, could you suggest which ones to use? 

FB873A66-61A0-434F-B409-426D90951810.jpeg

5EE4AC8A-16E5-4BEB-866D-3A472F5DD1D6.jpeg

E0DC61B3-4FAC-40CA-9950-43AF0A901D76.jpeg

6 answers to this question

The usual suspects...

Some yarns even the same brands can be a little heavier than others, which could cause this (if the green was thicker than the yellow for example).

Initial row or chain was too tight (not uncommon).

Inadvertently gaining stitches at the ends (but I'm not seeing this).

What I suspect - the mix of stitch patterns may not be compatible, and you are gaining stitches that way.  You can do patterns where they don't relate count-wise, but you have to 'do the math' and compensate - example make fewer repeats of a non-compatible stitch pattern and throw in one or more plain stitches at each end to keep the stitch count even with the other stitch patterns.