Help needed with following a pattern

Juliet47

Question

Hi everyone, I’m a fairly novice crochet maker and I’m confused by the pattern I’m currently following. I’m making a jumper ( my first) and I’m just getting started on the sleeves. The pattern says “ Working all increases as now set, inc 1 st at each end of next and every following 4th alt row” . I really don’t know what this means. Can anyone help me to make sense of this? I feel like I’m being a bit dim and that I’ll kick myself once it’s been explained..........

Juliet

image.jpg

4 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!

"inc 1 st at each end of next (row)  - this part is clear so far, right?

"and every following 4th alt row" - after you have made increases in the row described above:  make 3 rows with no increases, and increase on the fourth.  So, one, two, three, (4=INCREASE),   one, two, three, (4=INCREASE)   I like to put a stitch marker at the increased row ends to keep track; it looks like you will be increasing a total of 10 stitches, so there will be 5 sets of increases therefore stop increasing after you have 5 marked increase rows (also a good idea to count stitches at that point, if not before). 

So your pattern stitch is (UK terms) alternating DC & TR if I'm reading this right.  An increase is 2 stitches into 1, or when you are starting a row with a treble, putting a stitch into the stitch you normally would have skipped.  I would work the increases so when you continue, you keep to the pattern of DC in TR, TR in DC.

So if you ended a row with a treble, you'd want to start that row with chain 3 (to act like a treble), then DC into the treble.  This puts the chain=treble outside of the DC that was 'supposed to go' in the treble.