Finding Yarn

Shirley J

Question

So this might be a silly question but .... everytime I find a pattern I like and want to try, when I search for the yarn that has been used I can't find it anywhere. It's been discontinued or it's out of stock. I believe it's the yarn used that makes the product so attractive. How do I go about finding an alternative so that the end result will be the same? Will just getting another yarn in the same weight work the same? I'm not experienced enough to know the answer and don't want to spend a lot of money to end up with something I don't like or that really doesn't work the same.

Thanks.

5 answers to this question

Sometimes it is simple enough to figure out a substitute by reading the pattern, looking at the picture and swatching some alternatives.  Yarn colors get discontinued all the time so I often have to find a substitute from a different brand that gets close. 

It can be more complicated when you don't know much about the original yarn.  I run into this will doll clothes where people have found a specific yarn they loved but either was then discontinued or extremely limited in availability.  The first thing I do is try to contact the designer to see if they have some insight to what yarn would work as a substitute, why this yarn was a good fit if they don't have specific suggestions, etc.  The more information you can get the easier it is to find a substitute.  For instance sport weight can mean a variety of things depending on vendor, but if the designer can give you available yarns that are similar it gives you a start at finding a yarn match.

When that isn't an option another thing you can try is to look for patterns that are similar and look at what kinds of yarns they use.  

To answer your question getting something in the same weight isn't always the solution to your problem.  The texture, the materials, etc. can change the way the pattern emerges.