Baby beard stitch

Shawlmaker

Question

This should be the easiest fastest project, but I can't get out of the gate. 

The Pattern

Row 4: Ch 1. Turn. Sc in same st (Increase). Sc in each sc across 4sc total). 

The Problem

I never seem to have enough stitches to Sc. Do I go straight down from hook into itself? If I do, it's hard to get the hook through the 2 loops. And if I do, the other stitches seem to disappear into a mess. Any help?  

20171128_155554.jpg

20 answers to this question

Thanks, ladies!!! I'm a newbie, so I don't totally know yet what you're saying, but I'm quite relieved to know it's not just me having problems with this pattern! And I paid for it! Yes, there are loops that feed into a hat, and there is a mustache involved. I'll circle back tomorrow. Thanks ever so much! 

When 2 row are identical, the designer can say "repeat row #." If there's anything different, they write each row. The difference between row 3 and row 4 is the optional instructions to add eyelash fun fur. 

Believe it or not, but some people would try to add another strand of fun fur, if the designer said "repeat row 3." To be clear, the designer chose to write row 4.

Stuck again on new pattern. :( Lord help me!

Row 3: Add a strand of Fun Fur eyelash... I don't want to, but do I continue with the rest of #3? If so, why is Row 4 repeating what is said in Row 3 without saying "repeat row 3?"

#6 below says repeat row 5. What is considered row 5? Does it actually mean #5?

Instructions 

1. Ch 35, sc in second ch from hook and in each st across. 34 sc

2. Ch1, turn, sc across

3. Add a strand of Fun Fur eyelash yarn if desired. Ch1, turn, sc dec over first 2 st, sc to last 2 st, sc dec

4. Ch 1, turn, sc dec over first 2 st, sc to last 2 st, sc dec

5. Ch 1, turn, sc in next 5 st, hdc in next st, dc in next 18 st, hdc in next st, sc in last 5 st

6. Repeat row 5...

Yay, glad you found another pattern (those pics are hilarious with the eyelash yarn).