58 dc and 5 ch 1 spaces

Shawlmaker

Question

Hi, I'm a newbie. My purpose for starting crochet is because my quadriplegic mother is always needing new shawls, and I found a wheelchair shawl pattern, which is a gift from above! I hope to make a lot for many people if I can figure it all out! :-)

I'm still working out how to read patterns, and I've come to the above step. I am to double crochet 58, make 5 chains, and what--leave one empty chain? I don't understand the 1 space(s) thing.

23 answers to this question

Oh boy. If you put 2 DC in the middle of a v stitch, wouldn't that make a giant curve in the bend and no longer resemble a v stitch? Especially if you add 2 DC on each row and there are around 38 rows, which comes out to over 50 new DC at the end of the project. Seems like the work would come out a giant circle or something. Seems like I should add 2 DC to each side of the 4 sides at the start of each side and leave the v stitches alone. :-o

You're welcome!  Your dolls are a hoot, but that's OK, I'm glad to help.  It only took a couple of minutes to work up 3 rows, rip out 2, and re-do 2...my swatch was pretty small (on my monitor the pics are much bigger than the swatches were).  I was also curious to see what would happen with your suggestion to omit the increases.

Wow, Grannysquare. I can't believe you've done this for me. It's going to take a bit to digest. As a thank-you...If you're interested, I'll make one of my dolls for you for half price. https://www.etsy.com/listing/554966061/personalized-look-a-like-mini-me-felt?ga_order=most_relevant&ga_search_type=all&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_search_query=lookalike dolls&ref=sr_gallery_2

Thanks--I'll get back to you!