hdc/chain space confusion

lorelurse

Question

I'm a complete beginner and I'm working on a bikini knitting project with crocheted edges. I've come to a point where I don't understand the instructions so really hope someone can help!

After knitting a cup, I did one row of half double crochet all around it - imagine a knitted triangle with a row of hdc at the bottom and sides. 

I fastened off and am now at this point:

Join yarn with sl st to ch-3 space at bottom right hand corner of first cup, then (ch 3, hdc) in same space

Should there already be a ch-3 space in my crocheted row? It was just a normal half double crochet so I don't understand how there are any spaces.. or am I supposed to make a ch-3 space? But how/where?

And then what does the combination of ch 3, hdc in brackets mean? I understand that you can work into a chain space but I'm not sure what's referred to here.

5 answers to this question

Welcome to Crochetville! 

When you go around a corner, you need extra stitches. These can be all stitches, all chains, or a combination of both. 

When you did the hdc edge, you should have done a chain 3 at the corners.

Parentheses are used to indicate a series of stitches are all included in the next instruction. In your pattern, you attach the yarn in the corner's chain space. Then you chain 3 and do an hdc in the chain space where you attached the yarn.

What did you do in the corners of the triangle? You may be able to fudge it. Or you can take out round 1 and do it right.

I hope this helps! Let us know. 

It sounds like you are a knitter new to crocheting.  Don't panic.  I do both (many more years crocheting however), and crochet is more forgiving of 'fudging' than knitting.   And you can easily put a bunch of stitches into 1 stitch.