please help!!!!

Laura Robitaille

Question

hello..going out of my mind. I am relatively new to crocheting. downloaded Red Heart Granny Noel Throw (see attached pattern). Beautiful blanket done in granny squares, and at the end you piece them together. Sounded simple...took forever to do the squares, but finally completed the 13 large squares and the 48 small squares. crocheted the small squares into groups of 4 and ended up with 12 squares..just gorgeous. So then I tried to follow the directions for assembling them. They tell me to add a new row (9) on the 13 large squares, connecting the small squares as I go just like for the four small squares. I AM COMPLETELY LOST. I managed to figure out the row nine pattern, I get that they are asking me to create a row that has matching loops so that I can connect the small squares but I don't know how to go about doing it. Do I take four of them and then crochet them together? I tried doing them in a row and am not sure when to fasten off etc...can anyone help? so to reiterate I understand the row nine instrutions but not how to add the small squares (when and how). Thanks in advance...

noel granny throw.pdf

9 answers to this question

Welcome to Crochetville! 

First you'll need to remove the link to the pattern. It's against forum rules due to copyright violations. (Even though the pattern is free.) Is this the pattern?

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/grannys-noel-throw

The 4 small squares that you joined together previously are now treated as one square. Lay out the squares as shown in the diagram. 

Start with the top, left corner square. Do rnd 9 around the square. Fasten off. Do the next square around 3 sides, join the 4th side to the first square. Fasten off. Keep going until all are joined.