Pattern help

Ramie

Question

I am a beginner and was wondering if someone might help with this pattern that seems very simple but for some reason is not working out for me. I have done items more complicated than this but...

http://www.lionbrand.com/lby_freedownload/download/link/product_id/106481/

in Rnds 5-22, the patterns calls for an increase of 6 sc, per row. Is this 6 sc only for every row until row 22. Because I think the hat should lie flat, but it seems to be curling.

Thank you,

Embarassed by such a simple question. :(

10 answers to this question

Nah, actually this sort of question gets asked a lot (keeping circles flat).  

There's a formula that works for most people to make a flat circle.  For SC, start with 6 stitches and increase 6 sts each round.  For HDC it's 8 or 9 stitches, for DC it's 12.  More increases for the taller stitches to keep the ratio of diameter to circumference the same.

I say most people because some have taller stitch tensions than others, which makes a difference if you are working in the round.

When you say curling, is it ruffling, or is it curling up (cupping)?  If it is cupping sort of close to round 22, I wouldn't worry because that's close to where you are going to be decreasing stitches anyway.  If it's ruffling, or severely cupping well before round 22, then you may have to make adjustments.

Cupping = diameter is too great for the circumference.  You'll need to add more increases.  Some patterns you could also make shorter stitches, but this is already SC...

Ruffling = diameter is too small for the circumference.  You'll need to subtract some increases - maybe make a round (or more, scattered) without them.  Some patterns you could make taller stitches, but that works better if you're working DC (or better, a DC lacy patten) and throw in a round of triples, not as noticeable.

Welcome to the ville!