New to Crochet as well as Crochetville

MamaMia2GandM

Hi, my name is Mia. I am relatively new to crochet but am absolutely loving it! I started my first project (a doily) in February of this year and have since made a baby afghan, two shawlettes, and a few headbands/ear warmers to learn new stitches. My next project will be a USMC blanket for my son who will enter basic training in September so we'll see how it goes, hopefully I'm not biting off more than I can chew.  

Besides crochet I enjoy cross stitch, painting plastercraft houses (think Christmas Villages), and making bead jewelry mostly.  

Outside of crafting I love to travel, which we do a lot of.  My favorite destinations are Hawaii (Maui in particular) (my husband lived on Oahu and Kauai as a child) and Alaska (I lived there in my early 20's). We also love to cruise.  We have been on 14 or 15 cruises to date and have several planned in the next year (as well as a trip to Hawaii and a trip to Alaska). We are also big into snorkeling and taking underwater photos of the myriad sea-life. I also really love photography.  I'm not a great photographer, but I have a really great camera which makes me seem much better than I am.  Mostly nature/wildlife and photo documenting our travel adventures, though I hope to get another lens soon and start working on some family portraiture as well. 

I have a wonderful husband, two adult sons (23 and 19) and a 16 1/2 year old Papillon dog that is almost 100% deaf (she can hear if we clap our hands really loudly - but it startles her of course and then our hands burn so we avoid it) and she had one eye surgically removed a few years ago (cancer) and is probably more than 50% blind in the remaining eye, poor thing. But she is still active and goes for walks every evening and runs and prances like she was a puppy still.