Comfortghan help request.

mseavey2

I need some help and would like to know if anyone can help me. One of my best friends passed away this week. He was only 31 years old. Apparently what happened was he went into a diabetic coma while he was at home. He lived by himself, so there was no one there to help him. His work called his mother to find out where he was and she is the one that found him in front of his computer. He had already passed when she found him. He left behind an eight year old son. Needless to say it has been a very tough week. I would like to make a comfortghan for his mother and his son. The mother's I would make in a burgandy color and the son's I would make in a blue color. Here's the problem. I have never done anything like this before. Is there anybody that can guide me throught the process as well as help me out with this? Any help I can get would be greatly appreciated.:ty

I too am sorry to hear of this and wish I was not already overwhelmed with projects. I can offer a little advice and an open email/PM if you have questions about the process.

The first thing, is to specify what type of yarn you would like and the size of squares. I would suggest acrylic yarn and if you want all the squares to be similar in color you can even specify brand name. Since you are wanting to make 2 comfortghans I would suggest 12" squares, then you will not need a ton of squares and it will go together rather quickly. 20 squares makes a nice lapghan and 24 would be for like a twin bed. Also be specific about when you would like people to send you the squares so that people can be honest about whether they have the time to contribute. If you want the squares within 2 weeks or 2 months, just let everyone know.

I found on the few that I have put together that I preferred sewing the squares together, but I know several people hate sewing and would prefer to crochet them. Either method works well and looks beautiful.