Dinosaur drama!

DarlingArmadillo

Question

Hey!

I'm fairly new to crochet, in fact I only started about 2 weeks ago. After watching various YouTube videos I get the basics.

My aim is to create an amigurumi T. rex however I'm really struggling with the first round. After not being able to fully work out what I was supposed to be doing, I attempted to start the olan with a magic circle instead (starting w/4 stitches, building to 8 then 17 to then jump in on Rnd 2 of the pattern) but after getting to about round 6 it was clear that it just wasn't going to work. 

Can anyone explian what im actually supposed to be doing here?! I understand the chain8, but don't get what it means by working on both sides of the chain, or what 4in1 is (definitions in this book weren't helpful at all) 

ive added a pic to show what the finished product is supposed to look like 

thanks for helping out a newbie! 

Xx

image.jpg

image.jpg

1 answer to this question

Hi, and welcome to crochet and to the 'ville!  Just FYI, you might want to read up on the terms of use here, you can type in a couple of lines that are confusing on a pattern but it's a copyright violation to scan (even a portion) of a pattern and upload it to this forum.

Meanwhile, This pattern is written is not-quite-typical 'crochet grammar'.  4 in 1 is undoubtedly make 4 stitches into 1 stitch.