Sc4tog over both ch spcs

Jackie113

Question

Its the bottom base round one. 

I know how to sc#tog but I can't for the life of me figure out how to do it in a chain space. It seems to be saying to sc 4 tog over two chain spaces. And going by the stitch count at the end of the row it should end up giving you 3 stitches. (!?) I'm wondering if this is a translation error since the pattern was originally in Russian I think. I love the motif design of this pattern but just can't get this round. Any ideas?

12 answers to this question

Welcome to Crochetville!

I looked at the motif diagrams and didn't see any sc#tog, so it might be a translation issue. I see increases. Then again, I'm not that good with diagrams. Unfortunately, you're going to have to remove the link. It shows the whole pattern, which is against forum rules due to copyright violations. 

What I can do is describe how to do an sc4tog over a chain 2 space. When you're decreasing over a chain space, the chains are included in the count, but not the stitch. Let's say the previous row has sc, ch2, sc and the current row says to sc4tog over the ch-2 sp. You count sc, ch2, sc = 4 stitches. You stitch into the first sc, skip the ch2, stitch into the next sc, and then finish the stitch. (I hope that makes sense!)

Welcome from me too!  

I believe this is the pattern http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cargo-tote

if you don't already have the magazine you may find it on eBay or a destash thread here.  It should include directions for the stitches in question.  It wasn't a Russian pattern, notice the magazine name at the bottom of the scan.  That site is full of such instances of pattern piracy, violating the pattern copyrights.