help with rounds

CrochetCatskills

Question

Please if you can help.....

I'm making Linda's Christmas Stocking (easy one)

http://www.geocities.com/Heartland/...4/cstocking.htm

and joining dc in rounds

..... ch 3 at beginning but when I get to the last stitch and have to sl I don't know where to put this, in the ch? and if so which one? I am getting a big hole at each join spot all the way down the work..... Please help :eek

ps and if that's not bad enough, I am changing colors every 2 rows

i'm going to put up the pic on the web site for you to see what is happening here..... thanks to you all.

96d5&.src=ph&.tok=phqYU2DBBDGazz_U

is there a way to put the image in here? I'm new at this :hook

18 answers to this question

You can just do CH2 to stand as your DC at the beginning of the round, then join with a slip stitch into the top of the CH2 to join at the end of the round. Sometimes you get a gap because your CH3 is a bit loose.

It is good to remember that the CH3 will never look quite the same as the DC.

To change colours, you can just finish off the round as if you have finished the whole thing, then join in the new colour into where your first stitch would go. Hold the yarn, with a 3 or 4 inch tail, against the work and hook the yarn through the stitch, then carry on with the new colour, working over both tails as you go.

We usually make a red santa sock with a white turned down top so you could use white Eyelash type yarn to make it look like fur.

Hope this is helpful.

Colleen:hug

well not sure i did the heel part right but i folded it together for the back seam like they said and here is a pic :hook mine looks flat not like their pic. also think i had the wrong number of stitches when i did the heel part. :think:manyheart:hug hope you can get it worked out ok :yay

lindachristmasstocking024.jpg

Guest Crafterlady46