Copying a child's dress

Ettina

Question

I found a child's dress in a pile of clothes being given away, and on an initial, superficial look at it, it looked like something I might be able to crochet. But now that I've got it home and trying to copy it, it's seeming a lot more difficult. It's either not actually crochet (maybe filet lace?) or a type of stitch I've never done before. I was hoping I could post some pics and get some advice. I especially like video tutorials, but any help you could offer would be great. It's getting my stubborn up! I really want to know how it was made!

15005804951081367597371.jpg

1500580549679577791079.jpg

15005805694371951758899.jpg

1500580588594807726380.jpg

7 answers to this question

It is crochet.  Unfortunately the interesting multicolored yarn might make it harder to see the stitches.  Bottom to top:

The straps look like DC, 5 across, with SC in black on the sides as an edging.  It looks like the strap was facing front for the top left side, and facing back for the bottom left side of the photo. (which is sort of sloppy IMO, edging should have both been done with the same side facing out).

The flowers look like 2 round granny squares.  i can't quite tell what the grey/white yarn pattern is around the flowers, I'm assuming it's the stitch below showing thru several layers.

It does look like filet open mesh, which is DC into DC, chain 2, skip 2, repeat.

Putting all that together on the top photo...all I can say is, the elements as described above are easy, but you are going to have to count the stitches in each round, and figure out where you need to decrease or increase to get the shaping right.  All this is after you make a swatch to make sure you are getting the same gauge as the dress.

Oops, you wanted tutorials.

First, I've looked for a dress pattern that this might be, and haven't been successful.