Crochet Pattern Design

CrochetKiller

Question

Hi everyone. Newbie here and to crochet. I found amigurumi and haven't stopped making all kinds of things, since I started about 6 months ago. I feel I'm finally ready to make my own pattern, as I had an epiphany last night, about amigurumi and math. I hate math...a lot. I'm more of a, 'right-brained,' kind of person. I have been looking for an amigurumi pattern generator and cannot find anything. I also was thinking perhaps patterns could be made in CAD, or vectorworks, Has anyone done anything like that?? 

Also, if this is is the wrong forum, please let me know.

Happy Hooking!! 

8 answers to this question

Welcome to Crochetville!

The only real math for making amigurumi is the same math for making any round object in crochet.  The rest is understanding how and why different things work for amigurumi.  My opinion is that before you can design amigurumi patterns, you have to have a good understanding of them.  I only know one way to get a good understanding of something.  That is by a combination of research and practice.  My advice is to make as many amigurumi toys as you can from many different designers.  While you're doing that, read and watch videos about "crochet amigurumi tips."  There is quite a bit of information out there from a variety of sites.  Here are 2 of my favorite tips lists ...

https://www.craftsy.com/blog/2015/05/tips-crocheting-cute-toys/

https://www.craftsy.com/blog/2016/04/amigurumi-hacks/