AnnieTess

Help with crochet amigurumi pattern

Question

Hi. I need help with a pattern directions.  It states 12 sc in Magic Ring, join 9 sc, 3 sc are for the toes.Can anyone help me with this?

9 answers to this question

Welcome to Crochetville! 

What you have is instructions and the stitch count. 

Make an adjustable ring. Do 12 sc in the ring. Join with a slip stitch to the first sc. The stitch count is 9 sc + 3 sc for toes.

If you're struggling with round 1, I'm guessing that you're new to amigurumi. The pattern looks advanced. It assumes you know to chain 1 before making the 12 sc. I strongly suggest googling amigurumi tips. (Normally I'd give links, but I'm on my phone and I'm not good with it.) Also, Google beginner amigurumi pattern. Use one of those as practice. 

Let us know how it goes!

I hope you figured it out.  If not, let us know the name of the pattern and who it is designed by.  Maybe someone on here has made it and is very familiar with the pattern.  

I agree that if you could give us the name of the pattern (if it's a purchased pattern, a link so we can see what the toes look like if not further instructions).

It's a very unusual instruction.  It almost sounds like you are going to skip 3 stitches and come back to them later, in which case it would have been more clear if it said something like 'join in the 4th sc of the round, leaving the first 3 sc unworked for the toes'.  However, I'm totally guessing without more info.

It's always a good idea to read through a pattern to see if the construction makes sense.  Does it say anything latter about completing the toes?

• Like 1

^GS made some great points that I didn't even consider.  Normally, if it says join at the end of a round, it's to close the circle by joining to the first stitch and any other verbiage is stitch counts.  However, it may be a join to the 4th stitch, which would make the circle fold and 3 stitches stick out.