Ch 1 does not count as stitch (pattern help)

Christiana0115

Question

Hi, I'm new to crocheting and I'm trying out this baby blanket pattern. My pattern says at the end of row 1 to turn my work. And for the second row, "Row 2 – ch 1 {does not count as st}, 1 dc in first st, *skip 3 sts, 5 tr in next st {makes a shell}, skip 3 sts, 1 dc in next st; repeat from * to end".

Does this mean I chain 4 for the treble, then an extra chain on top of that when beginning the next row? And when it says " 1 dc in the first stitch", does it mean the first stitch from the hook?

10 answers to this question

welcome to the ville!

whenever you start a new row, you need to make what is called "turning chain".  this gets you up to the height you need for the following stitches.  sometimes the turning chain counts as a stitch and sometimes it doesn't.  here you do a chain 1, then in the very first stitch of the previous row you make a dc.  if the turning chain counted as a stitch you normally would make the next stitch in the second st of previous row.  

i don't understand your question "Does this mean I chain 4 for the treble, then an extra chain on top of that when beginning the next row? "  (i don't know what tr you mean) but the answer is no, you don't do that.  just do exactly what the pattern says.  

Welcome to Crochetville!

I'm not sure what you mean by chain 4 for the treble and then an extra chain on top of that.  Your last instruction for the previous row should be a stitch, most likely an sc or dc and then a turn.  The chain 1 at the beginning of row 2 is called the "turning chain."  The standard way to do this is to chain 3 and have it count as a dc.  However, some designers do the turning chain differently.  Your pattern calls for doing a single chain for the turning chain, then do a dc in the top of the last stitch you made in row 1.

:waving @ Kathy!