Help identify - type of yarn?

jgreen431

Question

Hello all! I am very new to crocheting and am in need of some assistance with a blanket. I would love to make a replica of this (I've attached a few photos of the blanket in question) but I cannot figure out what kind of yarn this is. This was a gift to my family from a friend of ours about 12 years ago.

I'd love to know if anyone can identify the type of yarn that was used for this. It is a very heavy blanket (we call it the coma quilt - it is certain that you will fall asleep when you have it on top of you). I've reached out to our friend about it but she cannot remember what kind of yarn she used.

I'd really appreciate any help you can give me. I know it might be hard to identify yarn without touching it in person - but any information would be great. Thank you so much!

~ Jenny

post-78681-0-21130500-1478542031_thumb.jpgpost-78681-0-82808200-1478542023_thumb.jpgpost-78681-0-76428900-1478542038_thumb.jpg

15 answers to this question

Ha, ha! My first thought was that it's wool, because old wool items often clump like that, and are so warm. Think of the Sherpa look.

Now that I think of it, does it smell like wool? Wool has a particular smell to it that acrylics and cotton never have. They are kind of neutral.

I didn't think of the wet-smell test, the only thing I could think of was the burn test but you wouldn't want to do that!

I don't see any felting though, the wool things I've accidentally or on-purpose felted didn't clump, they just got smaller, thicker and smoother (stitch definition sort of dissolved).  The reason I was thinking cotton was my well washed ancient cotton kitchen things sort of look like that, with long 'pills'.

I think it might be wool, or a wool blend.  that is what the worn parts look like to me. But GrannySquare has a good point about the weight, cotton is quite heavy.  So maybe a wool-cotton blend???