Pattern help

Moffierocks

Question

Hey guys,

I am BRAND new to this crocheting business and Im having trouble reading basic patterns. I am going to attend some workshops in my local area but they are not on for another few months and I am itching to start! Is someone able to decipher the below pattern for me in newbie terms? (this is an Australian/UK pattern for a blanket)

Using a 5mm hook, make 170ch (Ok, I can understand this one)

1st Row: Miss 3ch (counts as 1tr), 1 tr in each ch to end ... 168tr (I read this as skip 3 chains, insert hook into 4th chain and do a treble, then repeat until the end .. you will have 168 trebles)

2nd Row: (1dc, 1ch) in first tr, 1tr in each of next 166tr, 1tr in turning ch (treble fabric) (eeekk!)

Note - (1dc, 1ch) counts as a tr. Work into the 1ch at the end of every row, to ensure that you always have 168 sts.

Thankyou so much for your help! I will master this new language yet!

Janet

2 answers to this question

Welcome to Crochetville!

If I'm interpreting where you're confused, it's at the ends of each row.  I'm going to try to explain in UK/Australian terms, even though I'm used to American terminology.

When you're making fabric in rows, you have to start with a foundation.  In your pattern the foundation is a chain of 168 stitches + extra stitches for making the first stitch = 170 chains.  Those extra chains are the same as the height of a tr.  To start a new row you need to get to the height of the stitches.  For a tr or higher, what you do to get to that height counts as the first stitch.  So, you're correct that you insert your hook in the 4th chain and make a tr.  At that point you have 2 tr stitches, the chains are 1 and the tr is 2.  When you're done with the first row, you'll have 167 actual tr stitches + 1 tr stitch made of chains = 168 tr stitches.