Help! Need help translating Tunisian stich

vcossey

Question

Hi All! I finally jumped into a Tunisian afghan for the first time. Of course, reading and interpreting the pattern makes me feel like I'm reading a foreign language. I'm making the Zigzag Squares by Premier Yarns/Deborah Norville Collection. (I already made this blanket with standard crochet stitches with huge success!)

I have been searching video tutorials for their Houndstooth Squares with no luck. I'm stuck on the slip stitch then the above and behind part. Is the slip stitch like a normal crochet stitch? And what about the above and behind? I'm lost and any help would be so appreciated.

Sk first st, sl next vertical bar onto hook, [pull up lp in next horizontal bar above and behind next vertical bar, sl next vertical bar onto hook] across to last st, Tks in last st.

Thank you!!

8 answers to this question

I've done some Tunisian projects, but I'm not an expert.  Hopefully someone with more knowledge will chime in.

The instructions that you provided are for a forward pass.  You always skip the first stitch, because it's already on your hook.  Slip next vertical bar onto hook is a very long way of saying TSS (tunisian simple stitch.)  It's most similar to an incomplete front post stitch. 

If you look at tunisian crochet, there are vertical bars in the front and horizontal bars in the back.  So, the second TSS is done in the back, horizontal bar.  It's similar to an incomplete back post stitch.  To do this, insert your hook in the horizontal bar that's on the back side, yarn over and draw up a loop.

Alternate doing a normal TSS in the front vertical bar and doing a TSS in the back horizontal bar across the project.

A slip stitch in Tunisian crochet is what you do in the very last row to bind off your project.  There are several videos out there about the slip stitch bind off.

I hope this helps and I've described it correctly!  Good luck!!  :)