Babette Texan

new to forum and to crocheting, hate reading patterns

Question

Hi everyone, I am new to all of this but I need some advice, I picked up some varigated yarn today a 4 and using a 6.5 hook, I want to make a lapghan and I want to know what is the easiest and best stich for it.  Thank you in advance

11 answers to this question

Welcome to the ville!

Have you already been practicing your stitches? If not you may want to do so before you start a relatively large project.

With a 6.5 hook your stitches may be fairly loose, and if so, single crochet would make a nice ghan. Otherwise i would go with half doubles or doubles.

If you want to combine different stitches, there are lots of ways you could go.

I agree that single crochet is probably best.

Welcome to Crochetville!

Is this your first variegated yarn?  I always recommend starting with a medium, solid color to see the stitches better.  It sounds like you are past that.  If you've been practicing sc, hdc, and dc, then go with the one you're most comfortable with.  If you don't want to read a pattern, then the next best thing is using the same stitch for the entire lapghan.

Here's a table of afghan sizes that might help you...

http://thecrochetcrowd.com/afghan-sizes/

And a calculator for the size that you pick ...

http://thecrochetcrowd.com/afghan-calculator/

Have fun and please post a pic when you're done!  We'd love to see it.  :)

I know you hate reading patterns, it's like learning to read another language at first until you get the hang of it.  But I do suggest you try; you will get the hang of it sooner than you think.  Videos are nice to learn a completely new stitch combination, or technique, but not so much for a whole pattern.   For one thing, although there some are good videos, there seem to be a whole lot of really awful ones; for another, there aren't videos for every design you might want to make.