work (7, 8, 9, 10 hdc) or work (5, 6, 7, 8 hdc) or work (23, 26, 29, 32 sts)

Ariane Aimee

Question

5 answers to this question

The numbers in parentheses are for different sizes. The "or" part is not self explanatory. What is the name and location of the pattern?

Its from a purchased pattern called Falyn Fawn Set, its a hooded cowl, this is Row 4 of the hood and it goes as follows.

Row 4: chain 2, turn, work (7, 8, 9, 10 hdc), hdc 2 in the next stitch, work (5, 6, 7, 8 hdc), hdc 2 in the next stitch, work (7, 8, 9, 10 hdc). (23, 26, 29, 32 sts)

Row 5: chain 2, turn, work a hdc in each stitch all across.

Row 6: chain 2, turn, work (7, 8, 9, 10 hdc), hdc 2 in the next stitch {twice}, work (5, 6, 7, 8 hdc), hdc 2 in the next stitch {twice}, work (7, 8, 9, 10 hdc). (27, 30, 33, 36 sts)

I am unsure what the content means in the parenthesis, I am pretty new to crochet and I cant find any explanation in the pattern itself or on google

Ok, I see now... the "or" is not part of the pattern, but part of your question.  

The different numbers in the parentheses are for the different sizes.  

the {twice} means to do that part 2 times.  punctuating it that way is not standard pattern-writing practice.  

http://www.craftyarncouncil.com/tip_crochet.html  is a quick intro to how to read patterns----when they are written to the standards.  it won't help a lot if the pattern-writer decides to do it their own way.  

For a good overall reference you might want to get a book like Crochet Answer book by E Eckman, or Complete Photo Guide to Crochet by M Hubert.