Learning to design your own crochet patterns

emmilyx3

Question

Hi all!

My name is Emily and I have been crocheting for about 6 months now. I just finished my first amigurumi, a Pokemon Umbreon (photo below) and am already working on a Minecraft Creeper blanket as a Christmas gift for my nephew.  :) Despite still having a lot to learn, I am quite obsessed with crochet! I know that I would definitely like to design my own crochet patterns at some point, and after sharing my Umbreon on my facebook I have had quite a few people wanting me to make it for them. Of course I won't be profiting from it as it's not made with my own pattern.

Anyways, to get to the point, I would LOVE to start learning how to design my own patterns so that I can start selling things. Like I said, I'm still new to crocheting. I know sc, hdc, dc, roughly know trc but haven't used it much, sc inc & dec, rnds & rows, maybe a few other things, I can't remember.  :P

So I was wondering if anyone has any tips for learning how to design my own patterns. Any suggestions on what else I need to learn before I start to design? I have yet to learn how to read a stitch diagram, would that be important to know? This question might be dumb since there are so many ways to make something, but how do you avoid unintentionally making a very similar pattern as someone else? That question may answer itself once I know how to design.

Anyways, enough rambling! Thanks in advance for any tips or suggestions! Hope you all have a fantastic day! 

:)  :)  :)

post-77412-0-79083500-1463062458_thumb.jpg

6 answers to this question

I'm not a designer, so take this with a grain of salt from someone who's been crocheting for several decades.