My first graphgan

Sarah Vanover

I am new to crocheting. I have only been crocheting since January of this year (2016). I started crocheting as a way to keep my mind active and off my oldest being gone and in the Navy and not being home during the day to do things together or on the rare night off, a girls night out! You see, in boot camp, they can't write home for 3 weeks!!! My first project was a baby blanket in c2c to learn stitches and then in March, I jumped into designing and starting this graphgan in April. It is 180 stitches wide and 270 tall. I am using HDC for the red letters and for the blanket in general. I rounded the anchor to "set it off" from the rest of the blanket, and will do the yellow/gold in front post stitch to "set it off" as well. For the border I'm thinking will be double crochet all the way around, in navy, and then I will crochet 2 strands of the gold together and weave them through the double crocheted navy every 2 stitches, maybe even add a single stitch of gold around the double crocheted navy.

The first picture is the graphgan patter I designed myself for my daughter. I wanted something original and one of a kind to commemorate her joining the Navy and following her dreams. So I came up with that design.

The second picture is my progress thus far after frogging it 5 times after 40 rows to try and get a straighter edge, which I figured out after was because I needed to chain 1 and turn, not chain 2 and turn like most videos and patterns say to do with a half double stitch, and after she decided she wanted the anchor a little more rounded to "set it off" more from the name which is block letters. I will attempt to do the small amount of gold in a front post stitch to set the chain off just a bit as there's not much gold.

The reason for the colors in the graphgan is: the flag is red, white and blue and the navy colors are navy and gold.