Favorite place to buy yarn?

Here's a bit of a question thread/rant :-)

I recently moved to the city from suburbs several states away. Over the last 10 years my husband and I have moved many times, I guess maybe 6 different states. I have always been able to go to joann fabrics, and before my kids were born starting 3 years ago, I was an asst manager at one.

My store was one of the big box joanns, really huge, large variety of everything. We had about 4 aisles of yarn, plus the width of those aisles of the back wall as well, so it was always a great selection.

The best part was joanns let's you use multiple coupons and competitors coupons, and price matches. So I could go there with my joanns flyer with a couple coupons, the text they send with a coupon, the coupons from the joanns app, the coupons from the michaels app etc and they took em all.

So last week I went to michaels here where I live now, because there literally no joanns! I asked them if they take competitors coupons and the girl said yes, I proceed to do my shopping, get my apps and such all ready, and get in the huge line. I wait for 45 mins shovelling rice cakes and granola into my angry toddlers, and then at 5 he register the sales clerk says I can only use 1 coupon.

I was livid, going thru the line 8 times is out of the question, I'd be there til they close, with my screaming kids. I chose 1 skein and left.

So I go home and look online, and Google seemed to think michaels site had the best price on the yarn, so I look it up, and their price was great, as good as my coypons, but I would have to buy 3 skeins of each one!

I have looked in the little yarn and craft specialty shops, but they just don't have the prices I'm used to from the big box shops? What does everyone here do when there's no joanns? I've never seen a hobby lobby, but I hear they are great as well, but just not located by me? Should I drive 4 hours to joanns? Tbh it might be just as fast as this terrible michaels.